For All These Things…

I am truly grateful.

Well I need to complete the set here.  Last week was the Lady in My Life.  This week it is the Little Lady in My Life.  It has been an adventure since the beginning.  Born 2 1/2 months premature on a cold December morning (early in the freaking A.M.  Even then she knew how to make an entrance) she has been a joy and a challenge (in all the best ways) and an inspiration and a marvel.  She’s smarter than I am, more talented than I am, more dedicated to her passions than I am.

By the time Rachel was born the whole Lady in My Life thing had become a regular part of my on air schtick.  So she immediately became the Little Lady.  Eventually she would join me on the air and create some great memories for me and my audience.  I think she mostly remembers that her father was a complete grouch first thing in the morning.  I remember being greeted by a tiny little linebacker who would fling herself into my legs when I came home from work.  I remember taking my turn at midnight feeding and her falling asleep to the sound of Viet Nam documentaries.  The “crack” Christmas.  “Baby do it”.  Watching her peel chicken nuggets and sharing the absolute smallest french fry she could find.  I remember a night when I knew that she was an actress and she brought her old man to tears with pride.

Hell, I could write volumes.

She believes in me and refuses to let me off the hook for what she believes I still have in me to do.

It’s a lot to live up to.

For this I am truly thankful.

Leave a Reply

