For All These Things

(I noticed late last week that I had forgotten to do my weekly post on things for which I am truly thankful.  I thought about rushing to get “caught up” and then decided that I’d just resume today.  This is about being thankful not stressful and schedule bound)

Thirty years ago I would have laughed at the idea that I would be actively involved in a church ministry.  The idea that I would have spent over a decade of my life in professional ministry would have been completely beyond belief.

And yet here I am.

I am thankful for Youth Ministry.  It has been a surprise and a joy and more fulfilling than I ever would have dreamed.  The opportunity to walk along with teenagers has been inspiring to me.  I have learned much from them, I hope that I’ve been able to teach them at least a little.  But even just helping to create situations where they may learn from others has been profound learning experience for me.  Through that journey I have learned humility while still growing in confidence in my gifts.

I have made new friends.  I have deepened my spiritual life.  I think I’ve been a positive influence in the lives of young people.

For this I am truly thankful.

Leave a Reply

