For All These Things

A new year begins and it’s time to pick up this practice again.  A weekly reminder of the things for which I am thankful.  The interesting thing for me is that after this week I will have covered the “easy” ones.  Wife, daughter, parents, my ministry, even my hair.  Easy stuff, obvious stuff.  Now I’ll have to begin looking deeper into my life and finding the many things that I have to be thankful for every week.

But still one easy one left.  Can’t believe it’s lasted this long.  I am thankful for friends.

For old friends, those who have been part of my life for many, many years.  For new friends, those who have only come into my life recently.  And for future friends, those whom I have not yet met but who will still bring something new and wonderful into my life.

Because that’s what I love most about my friends.  They insist that this  too often passive lump of humanity come up out of my rut to see something new.  To challenge me to try to be something beyond what I already am.  One friend who served as a “dutch uncle” to a young man who needed advice, another who opened my ears to music that I had never heard before, one who asked me the most important question of my adult life.  But that only scratches the surface.  A friend I have known since childhood who spent as much time insisting I climb out of my rut as anyone when we shared our summers (and whose parents and sister also played important parts in my life), a friend from adulthood who insisted I finally follow my dream of playing guitar.  You see the list just grows too long for this short post.  If you don’t see yourself listed here please don’t feel slighted.  I started typing the list and quickly realized I’d never get everyone.  High school friends, college friends, radio friends, church friends, ministry friends, virtual friends and friends who are also family.

How can one such as I have so many friends?  I can’t answer that.  I only know that I do.

For that I am truly thankful.

1 Comment

Filed under personal, Thankful

One response to “For All These Things

  1. And we are thankful for you as well. Peace, friend.

    Like

Leave a Reply

