For All These Things

I’m not sure when I started reading but I do not remember a time when I couldn’t read.  Other than sleeping I have probably spent more time reading than any other activity during my life.  I’m not sure there’s anything that I’ve gotten more extended enjoyment out of in my life either.  Reading has taken me deep into space, into the past, into the future, it’s made me laugh and cry and think.

Over the years I’ve discovered that I like to read a lot of different things.  My family owned a set of Collier’s Encyclopedia.  There were days when I would just grab a volume, open it at random and begin to read.  We also had a collection of American Heritage books on a wide range of historical subjects.  Read them all.  The Colliers left the family years ago but I still own 26 volumes of the American Heritage.  My love of mysteries began with the Hardy Boys.  I read dozens of them.  My love of science fiction began with Tom Swift.  A love of spy novels began with, where else, Ian Fleming’s James Bond novels.   None of them stayed where they started.  I’ve grown to Holmes and Wolfe and Plum and Smiley and Asimov and Heinlein and Robinson and so many more.  History and biography still make up a goodly chunk of my reading as well.   I can not even imagine how books I’ve read already.  With my e-book reader (Nook Color by Barnes and Noble!) I probably read more than ever before because I have quick and easy access to more.

I can not imagine my life without reading.

For that I am truly thankful.

1 Comment

Filed under personal, Thankful

One response to “For All These Things

  1. I agree. When I was a child I lived near the library. I remember spending hours among the books. I think that if you have a passion for reading early in life it never leaves you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

