Time to Get Real – Week of September 9

weight-loss-3

Exercise.

I’m not really a fan of the word.  You see, I’m basically lazy and have been all of my life.  So the idea that I will take time from my schedule and dedicate it to sweaty, boring, repetitious activity just sounds like a dumb idea.

But I gotta do it.

I am not trying to build muscle (although I will along the way), I’m not trying to make myself better looking (although that too will happen) nor am I training for some athletic event (that could happen too).  I’m exercising for one reason and one reason only.  To lose weight.  Because that excess weight I carry is trying to kill me and I don’t take that lightly any more.

So the exercise is simple.  I do a lot of walking.  Walking is good because it involves very little sweating.  While I walk I can think deep and profound thoughts.  Or I can think about my football pool.  I walk for a minimum of 30 minutes 3-5 times a week.  Over the last month I’ve been adding days of running with the thought that I might try running a 5k this fall.  We’ll see.

What I need to do is get some light weight lifting added soon.  My body needs to be stressed in a different way to move into the next phase.  Beyond that walking/running weather will be ending soon.

So the exercise plan doesn’t need to be fancy.  It needs to be consistent.  It needs to advance the level of difficulty as I get into better shape.

Ultimately, it has to help me lose weight.  Simple.

The news on the scale was probably the best I could have hoped for this week.  Lots of walking plus a painful tooth probably helped keep the weight controlled while on vacation.  Down .8 of a pound.  Now let’s get 190 behind us.

Official Weigh In Weight

193.8 pounds

Leave a Reply

