For All These Things

Some days you just stumble into something filled with grace and beauty.  I was traveling last week on business to Minnesota.  That’s home territory for the leader of the group with whom I was working and she took the opportunity to invite us to her home for a chance to relax after several days of solid work.

This is a pretty social group.  Don’t get me wrong, these are serious, hard working people doing some amazing work.  But we like each other as well.  So we enjoy the opportunity to just sit and talk about regular stuff.

Have you ever thought about the difference between a house and a home?  My friends HOUSE was very nice but in many ways unremarkable.  What was remarkable was the HOME that she, her husband and two sons have made there.  Filling it with love, memory and hospitality they took just a house and makes it a home.

Being invited in to share that special place, a place where the border is thin between this world and that better place, is an honor and a joy.  I left that HOME filled with good food, some good drink and joy.  That is a gift of a very special kind.

I want to be able to offer that same gift from my own home.  I have a standard now to live up to.

This week I am thankful for –

A good friend who is helping me find my best self again,

Finally being able to put the great challenge of the moment into a form that I understand and because of that I know I can achieve it,

To be home again (HOME) with my lady love.

For that I am truly thankful.

Leave a Reply

