For All These Things

There are days when life just gets hard.  I’ve had days when it was hard because of BIG, SERIOUS problems and other times when it’s hard because of an overwhelming burden of little, stupid problems.

Recently it’s been mostly the second category.  Have you ever walked into a swarm of midges or lake flies?  Tiny little flies that fly in frantic, erratic patterns.  They get into your eyes, your nose, your mouth, your hair.  Individually they are harmless.  In a swarm they are maddening.  That’s the kind of problems making my life hard the last couple weeks.

At a moment like that it’s great to have someone who you can lean on, someone who will be honest, someone who can remind you that it’s a whole bunch of little, stupid problems.  Who can remind you that you’ll survive.

I’ve had a couple people do that for me.  And that’s good.  Really good.

This week I am thankful for –

The beginning of beautiful Autumn weather,

The joy of a sports fan whose team is doing well made even better because it has been decades since that last happened,

The joy of doing things I love, even if I can’t do them as long as I’d like.

For that I am truly thankful.

Leave a comment

Filed under personal, Thankful

Leave a Reply

