For All These Things

Another stupid, long, stress filled week.  Which is why this post is late.  But today felt like I’d turned a corner, gotten some things behind me and headed in a positive direction.

Then one thing went a little bit awry.  When I came home several more things decided to go pear shaped.

Sigh.

There are days when I wonder if maybe I’ve just earned it.  Maybe it is my fault.  Maybe…

It’s hard on a day like this to spend any time thinking about things for which I’m thankful.  Those thoughts mostly run “Thank God it’s not worse than it is”.  Which isn’t really helpful.  If I’m being honest, there is a chance that it just might get worse.

So it’s hard to think happy thoughts.

At the same time, it COULD be worse.  A whole helluva lot worse.  The darkness is far from complete.  Some of what’s out there is within my control, so I need to control what I can.

This week I am thankful for –

That I still remember to turn and walk towards the brightness in my life,

All the things that have gone right, no matter how small,

The peace of acceptance.

For that I am truly thankful.

Leave a Reply

