Time to Get Real – Week of January 12

weight-loss-3

No, I haven’t quit.

Yes, I’m back.

The end of last year was just too… something, to deal with in those final weeks.  Struggling to support my wife as she adapted to her limited mobility and the increased responsibilities on me.  Packing up my office and concluding my job.  The holidays and the food that surrounded me there.

I made the  conscious decision to set the weight loss program aside.  My plan had been to jump back on the bandwagon right after the New Year.  When it became clear that I would need to help my wife drive out to St. Louis in that first full week I knew it would have to stay on hold a little longer.  There were other things that required my complete attention.  Like the job interview that popped up during that time period (which went very well, by the way).

So here we are.  January 15, halfway through the month and I’m just getting started up again.  Not the ideal situation but in weight loss we rarely get the ideal situation.  You simply have to START.  And then keep going.

For the record I did weigh myself at the start of 2014.  Somewhat to my surprise I had done pretty well.  194.6.  Basically a hold through all the bad stuff.  Today I did my first official weigh-in and the news was even better.  What it means is that I have integrated some of the new eating discipline into my routine.  I don’t have to think about it, I simply do it.  That’s a huge win and means that I am headed in the right direction.

Doesn’t change my resolution:

I will break through the milestone weight that keeps eluding me.  I really want to do it before my wife comes home for her first visit (early February).  So let’s set a solid goal.  Past the milestone by my birthday, February 9.  Here we go.

Official Weigh In Weight

193.6 pounds

Weight Change this week – -1.2 pounds

Total Weight Loss To Date – 11.2 pounds

Goal Weight and Total to Lose – 175/30

Leave a comment

Filed under personal, Weight Loss

Leave a Reply

