Time to Get Real – Week of January 19

weight-loss-3

The struggles continue.

I know I need to up my exercise routine.  I need to be more active.  To help with that I bought a Fitbit which is a high tech pedometer.  The truly useful part is that it links to my Fitbit online account via wifi so that my steps are automatically recorded for me.  The idea was/is that it becomes an automatic little nag function (I get regular e-mails from the website telling me how I’m doing).  All things considered my walking is better.  I remember to take the stairs more often to rack up more steps.

But it’s not enough.  I know I need to get on the treadmill more.  Not just on days when I can’t get out and walk (a very real issue in the winter here in WNY) but to push a little harder with some running.  I also know that I desperately need to improve my upper body strength.  Adding even some light weights would help with that and increase my calorie burn for the weight loss project.

It’s all perfectly logical and carefully thought out.  Which means nothing if I don’t make it part of the routine.  I have a small excuse in that I’ve been travelling a lot.  That makes it hard to get an exercise routine going.  It’s not a really good excuse because it can be done.  Once this current trip is over I will be able to dig in more at creating the routine I need at home.  While I don’t always like being scheduled I am a creature of routine.  I need a base structure on top of which I can dance the rather awkward, ungainly dance that is my life.

Effectively I’m still stuck.  The only person who can get me unstuck is me.

Doesn’t change my resolution:

I will break through the milestone weight that keeps eluding me.  I really want to do it before my wife comes home for her first visit (early February).  So let’s set a solid goal.  Past the milestone by my birthday, February 9.  Here we go.

Official Weigh In Weight

194.0 pounds

Weight Change this week –   +0.4 pounds

Total Weight Loss To Date – 10.8 pounds

Goal Weight and Total to Lose – 175/30

Leave a comment

Filed under personal, Weight Loss

Leave a Reply

