Time to Get Real – Week of March 3

weight-loss-3

That terrible moment just before you step on the scale.

Victory or defeat?  Yes, I’m not supposed to think about them that way.  It’s a marathon, not a sprint.  It’s a lifestyle not a diet.

Blah, blah, blah.

Every week it’s victory, no matter how small, or defeat, no matter how small.

I got the scale out this week, a week when I had really gone for it, and thought “Please, 192, no, let’s not get our hopes up. 193.”

The digital “I’m thinking” graphics go round and round and rounnnnd….

VICTORY!  YES!

Last week I really buckled down and starting tracking things.  The FitBit is a HUGE help with that.  The website makes food journaling much easier and the automated updating function of the device itself means I never have to manually enter steps.  All done for me.  Then it generates cool charts like the one below.  Here are my steps for last week:

Week of Feb. 23

Week of Feb. 23

Now that may look like the roller coaster I said I wanted to get away from last week but there is a HUGE difference.  My highest day in that previous week was close to 4,000 steps.  My LOWEST day this past week (Tuesday) was over 6,000 steps!  So yes, there’s still an uneveness to my walking but the baseline has jumped significantly.  My goal was to keep everyday above 6k and it worked.  We will build from there.

Meanwhile the food journaling has shown me that I’m running a little high on daily sodium.  Even better it’s helped me ID some of the higher sodium sources in my diet.  I was surprised at a couple items that were pumping that number up.  We’ll be looking to reduce how often I eat them and look for alternatives too.

So maybe this whole tracking thing might be a good idea.

I’m travelling and visiting with friends this week.  Food and exercise will both be a problem.  I must be prepared and smart.

My resolution:

I will break through the milestone weight that keeps eluding me.   Here we go.

Official Weigh In Weight

191.8 pounds

Weight Change this week –  – 3.4 pounds

Total Weight Loss To Date –  13.0 pounds

Goal Weight and Total to Lose – 175/30

Leave a comment

Filed under personal, Weight Loss

Leave a Reply

