Life Among the Unemployed March 12

Missed last week.  Which is probably a pretty good example of my head space.

need-a-job

I’ve been unemployed three times in my life.  The first time was for six months.  I stopped to drop off an application on my way to the unemployment office (yes boys and girls, once upon a time you had to physically show up to claim your benefit), was asked to stay for an interview and at the end of that was offered a full time job!  I went down to the Unemployment office only to be told that my benefits had come to an end.  Timing, as I often say, is everything.  

The second time I was off for two months, June and July.  August first I was back on the job.  Where I would stay for just over thirteen years.

Well it’s been almost two and a half months out of work this time.  Compared to a lot of people in our economy right now that’s just an extended vacation.  It’s just long enough for the worry to start nagging at me.  The budget will get very tight starting at the end of the month.  We still have a few resources to call on but not many.  The current health insurance is fine.  As long as we don’t get sick.  It meets the minimum needs but that’s it.  Will have to look at cutting costs.  Back to a minimal cell phone package.

Sigh.  Had a dream that my lady and I had an argument about the whole job search thing.  Which we haven’t and aren’t likely to have any time soon.

So I’ve expanded the search parameters.  Doing what I can.

While I try to hold the fear at bay.

So that I’m ready for my next real job.

Whatever it turns out to be.

And I’ll keep you up to date on how that goes.

Leave a comment

Filed under personal, Unemployment

Leave a Reply

