Time to Get Real – Week of March 18

weight-loss-3

Trying to build on a huge surprise week involves keeping your expectations reasonable.

I had a big week, a week that brought me within sight of that milestone weight that keeps eluding me.  But it came at least in part because I was sick and ate very little for 3 days.  That’s a bad weight loss strategy.  Plus big weeks are great but not neccesarily the weekly goal.  I want steady, sustainable loss week after week.  I want my body to get accustomed to the new reality.  To create good habits in exercise and diet that I can continue.  I learned a long time ago that “going on a diet” is a sucker’s bet.  I’m looking to design a new food and exercise lifestyle.  Then I can be the guy I remember, the guy I want to be again.

So I was a little worried.  This is where I stumble, where I get overly comfortable and head the wrong way.  I’ve gotten away from my food journal (which is dumb because I know it helps me) which was another worry.  I was pretty sure that the eating had been OK and the exercise had been quite good.  Getting my metabolism up a little can help smooth out some of the bumps.  So I just wanted to see some positive movement, another step in the right direction.

What I got was moving from “goal in sight” to “standing at the edge”.  I am  a half pound away from breaching that milestone weight.  Breaking through will be great.  Getting a little buffer zone on it will be even better.  So this week we go back to logging everything, we keep up the exercise and we push on through.

I’m so close I can smell it.  And it smells like victory.  When it happens I’ll get to change the line above the weigh in below.

My resolution:

I will break through the milestone weight that keeps eluding me.   Here we go.

Official Weigh In Weight

190.4 pounds

Weight Change this week –  – 0.8 pounds

Total Weight Loss To Date –  14.4 pounds

Goal Weight and Total to Lose – 175/30

Leave a Reply

