Time to Get Real – Week of March 23

weight-loss-3

I dance the dance of joy!

Nothing like crashing through a barrier.  Nothing subtle here, no just inching my way into the next level.  We kicked butt and took names!

I’m a little excited.

After approaching but never getting past that milestone weight.  In the end it was simply a matter of living up to the title of the series.  It was time to get real.  For me that means food journaling and pushing the exercise.  Two activities that I hate doing.  Two activities that work.

On the exercise front – my goal (beyond weight loss) is to be able to run a 5k.  This was a goal that my stroke interrupted.  So I’m trying for longer running segments.  Last week I hit a new personal best, running (at 4 mph) for 25 consecutive minutes.  Felt good.  I did that once with several 15 minute segments during the rest of the week.  The next step is to move the 15 minute segement up to the norm and push again.  I also added some light weight training for my upper body.  It was a good week.

Food journalling –  One word: SODIUM!!!!  Damn, it’s everywhere, in everything.  I’m working on limiting it but that’s really, really hard.  Here’s something I learned this week.  Sodium means that fast food is pretty much a thing of the past for me.  I can swap out chicken for burgers and save on the fat calories but the sodium is till through the roof.  And it’s in the damnedest places!  One of the largest ingestion of sodium last week was in my KETCHUP!  This one is going to be hard.  At least I’ve identified the enemy and have a weapon to fight back against it.  Yeesh.

My resolution:

Time to name the next goal.  I like them to be reasonable and achievable for my short term goals (the long term one is at the bottom here).  So we take it five pounds at a time.  185, I’m looking at you.

Official Weigh In Weight

188.4 pounds

Weight Change this week – 2.4 pounds

Total Weight Loss To Date –  16.8 pounds

Goal Weight and Total to Lose – 175/30

Leave a comment

Filed under personal, Weight Loss

Leave a Reply

