Life Among the Unemployed March 26

I’m willing to do the work to find my next job.  What’s frustrating me this week is the casual indifference that sometimes pops up at the other end of the equation.

need-a-job

Let’s start out by saying I have dealt with some truly outstanding people in the course of this search.  People who have behaved both professionally and compassionately.  There have been a couple of positions that I didn’t get but the whole process was handled so very, very well that I went out of my way to thank and compliment them when they said they weren’t hiring me.

I long ago gave up being upset with “black holes”, employers who simply suck in your application/resume without even an acknowledgement that they’ve received your materials.  I remember back in the day that one of my bosses defended the action by saying that it cost money to mail out acknowledgement letters.  It was a dumb excuse but there was at least some tiny foundation for it.  In an age where virtually everything is done digitally the lack of a simple e-mail strikes me as unprofessional and inexcusable.  Drop it in the “It Is What It Is” bin and move on.

What is making me crazy in this search are the people who tell me that they’ll be in touch and never follow up.  The places that ask me for availabilities for phone interviews then never schedule one.  One place has simply stopped responding to my messages.  Trust me when I tell you that I bend over backwards to make sure that my communication is pleasant and professional.  I am well aware that at the moment I need them a lot more than they need me.  But how much effort is required to simply say “Thank you for your interest, we won’t be moving forward with you in the process” or “We’ve had a change in our process and we will be back in touch with you when it’s up and running again”.  One place where I applied actually had that happen.  They decided they needed to complete a step before they went to interviews and told me what the new timeline looked like.  Thank you.

I understand that I’m not going to be offered every job.  This isn’t my first unemployment rodeo.  I do begin to wonder what I’m learning about some of these people based on how they handle this process.

The good news is that I have two phone interviews in the next week.  There’s hope that a third one might be coming up soon.

Then there’s the place that asked for the availabilities.  We’ll see if anything comes from that one.

So I’m ready for my next real job.

Whatever it turns out to be.

And I’ll keep you up to date on how that goes.

2 Comments

Filed under personal, Unemployment

2 responses to “Life Among the Unemployed March 26

  1. missdisplaced

    The not getting back kills me.
    I recently had a phone interview, a day-long interview and test, phone time with HR to go over benefits, and lastly another phone interview with a senior manager in another country who said that “they would be in touch with me shortly regarding an offer.”

    It’s been two weeks now and nada.

    Like

  2. phlipside

    I currently have a potential job where my count on interviews (phone and in person) is 10. I’ve met with everyone from top to bottom and am still waiting on a final decision 7 months after the process began. It’s frustrating. Potentially a great opportunity but you have to wonder what’s really going on.

    Like

Leave a Reply

