Time to Get Real – Week of October 7

weight-loss-3

OK, back on track.

Two things.  I weighed myself on Friday just to check on the effect our weekends have on my overall weight.  The difference was four tenths of a pound.  Now to be fair this was one of our quietest, stay-at-home weekends.  We did go exploring and did eat out so it’s still instructive.  I need to watch the weekend very closely.

The really good news, as far as I’m concerned, is that I have all my tools back.  I’m consistently food journaling with MyFitnessPal and I have a Fitbit once again.  For me these are vital tools to keep on track.

I use a Fitbit One for tracking my activity level.  It gives me total steps, number of flights of stairs (given that my office is on the second floor and my apartment on the third, both in buildings without elevators, that’s a good stat) and syncs with my online account wirelessly.  That’s a huge benefit for me since I’m basically lazy.  You could achieve a lot of the same benefits with an old school pedometer and a well set up spread sheet.  But that’s too much like work.  Again, the steps factor increases the “game” aspect of this (as I mentioned before) and that’s a huge help for me.  I lost my original One while travelling this summer.  Nice to be back online with that.

MyFitnessPal is a great resource for tracking calories, fat, carbs, etc.  They have a huge database that is constantly augmented by user listings so you can find almost anything.  Finding restaurant food from non-chains can be a challenge but I try to work the most reasonable estimates from what they do have.  The real “golden ticket” here for me is the smartphone app.  I don’t have to remember what I ate when I get to a computer.  Adding the foods is a relatively quick and simple operation.  So I have a good running report on where I am for the day.  That can be a big help.

So I have my tools.  I know that weekends are a stumbling block.  And I have positive movement for the first time in weeks.  I’m liking this so far.

My resolution remains :

I want to am going to be The Guy again.

The next milestone is getting back below 190.  I will get there and go on.

Official Weigh In Weight

195.2 pounds

Weight Change this week –  -1.2 pounds

Total Weight Loss To Date – 9.6 pounds

Goal Weight and Total to Lose – 175/30

Leave a comment

Filed under personal, Weight Loss

Leave a Reply

