A New Beginning – November 6

einstein_www-txt2pic-com

It’s November.  And once again I have dedicated myself to a month long ordeal and creative experiment.

It’s NaNoWriMo.

That’s National Novel Writing Month.  The goal is to write 50,000 words of a novel in the 30 days of November.  This is one of the great passions of The Kid.  She is, of course, an MFA Creative Writing candidate right now.  Writing is probably the greatest passion in The Kid’s life.  Five years ago she roped me into trying as well.  I have written short stories on and off since high school.  In many ways the short story is my favorite writing length.  The challenge of communicating the story in the span of a few pages, a few thousand words.  In fact many of my stories probably fall into the category of “flash fiction”.  Short-shorts.

So writing a long form story was a challenge.  The Kid assured me that I shouldn’t worry about not making the goal, most folks don’t on the first try.  So I promptly hit 50k with several days to spare.  My plan had been to take a little while off (writing that intensively is exhausting) then write the additional 30,000 words I needed to properly fill out the story.

I had been dawdling along with that task until October of the following year when something interrupted my life.

I’ve tried to go back to the novel a couple times without success.  This year seemed like a good time to dive back in.  I’m writing this five days into November and I’m passed the 11,000 word mark already.  So I’m ahead of the curve.

And it feels good.

  • 161 days without a (proven)rude Virginian.  I do need to note that when Virginians go for the horn on the car they do it with a vengeance.  Do not expect a polite little toot here.  If they feel the need to honk they commit to it.
  • A week into November and I was in shirtsleeves yesterday.  I am absolutely NOT trying to rub it in on my friends north of here.  This is more utter amazement.
  • We’ve really taken a break from the go-go-go lifestyle.  The Kid has the big social life right now.  Which,when combined with NaNoWriMo, is pretty much wiping her out.

It’s a new beginning.

Leave a comment

Filed under Food, New Beginning, personal, Writing

Leave a Reply

