Time to Get Real – Week of January 4

weight-loss-3

My first impulse is to say “So we begin again”.  But the more I think about it the more I realize it falls into the failed mindset we’ve all been trained to accept about weight loss.

It’s a temporary phase with a beginning and an end.

Except it isn’t.

This is why I have (personal) reservations about weight loss programs.  The offer you a short term process to what is a long term problem.  I’m not 25 pounds above a healthy weight for me because I got a little crazy with the eating during the holidays.  I do not struggle with borderline high blood pressure because of a short term issue with weight loss.  I don’t linger at the edge of pre-diabetes because I slacked off on my exercise for a couple months.

I have poor eating habits.  My portion control is poor.  My food selection is often poor.  I do not get anywhere near the MINIMUM amound of exercise I need to stay at a healthy weight.  This is a lifelong problem and the solution has to work for me for the rest of my life.

I am not ON a diet. I am trying to FIX a diet.  Diet, by definition, the kinds of food a person habitually eats.  If I can adjust the kinds (and much more importantly the PORTIONS of the foods I eat) and get regular exercise losing weight is easy.

Yes, you read that right.  Assuming you do not have an underlying medical condition that obstructs weight loss (and being too lazy to get up off your ass and stop stuffing your face is NOT a medical condition) then that is all there is to losing weight.

I will now get flamed by the folks who want to talk about their “issues” and psychological stressors and people who are upset about being called lazy and being accused of stuffing their faces.  Go for it.  Here are my answers up front:

  1. If you know you have “issues” then you’ve already come to grips with the problem.  Unless you do nothing except use the issues as an excuse.  Face them, struggle with them, defeat them.  I’ll be right beside you the whole way.  Whimper about how hard you life is and you get no sympathy.  I had a bleeping stroke.  Let’s talk issues.  Better yet, let’s not.
  2. Psychological stressors.  See above.  If you have serious problems in this category then you get the medical condition pass.  Otherwise, you’re just whining.  See #1.
  3. You’re lazy.  I’m lazy.  I freaking HATE exercise.  Hate, hate, hate.  It bores me.  It makes me sweaty which I don’t much like.  And it HURTS, especially at the beginning.  Most of us have gotten this way because we chose the easy path.  The couch potato path.  That’s lazy in my book.  Maybe you’ve gotten to the point that you have serious medical issues.  Fine, that’s different.  But my knees ache and my heart pounds and my muscles scream.  Not doing it just because it’s hard is lazy.
  4. You stuff your face.  We all do.  Years ago, when I was still in radio, we hosted a group of broadcasters from southern Africa.  At lunch one day I asked them what had surprised them the most about the U.S.  They all agreed it was how much food we ate.  A single serving in most restaurants would be the normal dinner for at least two people in their countries.  These were educated, middle class folks.  They all felt like they had gained 10-20 pounds in the month they were visiting us.

Bottom line is this – everything I read indicates that most of us are overweight because we eat to much and move to little.  No other reason.  We have problems that start with our weight.  It’s easy to turn than equation around and say that our problems cause the weight problem.  For most of us it’s a lie.

I gave up lying years ago.

Here’s my drill moving forward:

Track my eating with My Fitness Pal.  Make better choices.  Control portion size.

Exercise – I have a body weight strength program (requires basically no equipment at all.  You use your own body weight as the resistance) that I will do three days a week and walk on the treadmill or out in the world 5 days a week.  Yes, I’m talking about two work outs a day on two or three days a week.  My walking goal is 10,000 steps a day.

Weigh ins begin today.

The Guy

My resolution remains :

I want to am going to be The Guy again.  The Guy weighed 175 pounds and looked good and felt good.  And his blood pressure was good and his blood tests were good.

The next milestone is getting back below 190.  I will get there and go on.

Official Weigh In Weight

197.4 pounds

Weight Change this week – 0.0pounds

Total Weight Loss To Date – 7.4pounds

Goal Weight and Total to Lose – 175/30

Leave a comment

Filed under personal, Weight Loss

Leave a Reply

