Time to Change – August 8

weight-loss-3

It’s time to begin again.

 

I’ve taken the time off this summer to really think about what I’m trying to do, what I’ve done before and what needs to change.

First thing was the title.  It never really got real, did it?  Nope.  LOL.  So let’s begin with something new.

Being of a somewhat analytical mind, I wanted to figure out what was different from when I’ve had success before.  Because something was different.  I’ve never struggled the way I have over the last year and a half.  Here’s what I found:

  • I’m older.  A good six or seven years older from when I had my best success.  The body changes.  It’s going to be harder.
  • It’s not as easy to exercise.  Not just because of the above but because I’m in a new environment.  For the last decade or more I lived in a village context.  That meant I could just walk out the door and do a two-mile circuit on quiet streets.  Today I live in an apartment complex with limited walking areas within it and no safe area outside it.  Virginia doesn’t do much in the way of berms on their roads.  That creates problems for both walking and biking, my two favorite forms of workout.  Temperature is another issue.  I could workout almost any time of the day during the warm season.  That’s much more limited here.
  • My kitchen doesn’t inspire home cooking.  I know, this one sounds like I’m reaching.  The last couple places I’ve lived have had spacious kitchens with enough .  I’m in a galley kitchen with very limited .  It takes some of the joy out of cooking.  Cooking has been one of my creative outlets so things that limit the potential for enjoyment don’t help.  We made some changes in our organization which has freed up the counters as much as possible.  I think I see some light at the end of that tunnel.
  • The new job is much “busier” than my last one.  My previous position worked at a more leisurely pace.  It was lots of planning, weekly visits and then a half-dozen busy events each year.  This position has weekly events with closer to a dozen big events each year.  It’s taken a while to find some kind of tempo and routine.  That’s thrown a lot of my life into a scramble.  Which is a tough environment to try to get fit and lose weight.

The third and fourth items are the easiest to change.  In fact, I’m seeing some resolution in both of them.  The first there is nothing I can do about at all.  In fact, it’s just going to get “worse”!  The key is going to be how to attack that second piece.  I will have to rely on more forms of exercise than I have in the past.  I will have to find times that work.  It’s a challenge.  I’ve got some ideas about that.  I will share those next week.

In the meantime I stepped onto the scale for the first time in a month.  The number was not good but not as awful as I was afraid it might be.

The Goal

My resolution remains :

I want to am going to be The Guy again.  The Guy weighed 175 pounds and looked good and felt good.  And his blood pressure was good and his blood tests were good.

 

The next milestone is getting back below 195.  I will get there and go on.

Official Weigh In Weight

200.6 pounds

Weight Change this week – 0.0 pounds

Total Weight Loss To Date – 0.0 pounds

Goal Weight and Total to Lose – 175/25

Leave a comment

Filed under personal, Weight Loss

Leave a Reply

