Stroke Day

 

October 26, 2010

The day I had my stroke.  A subarachnoid hemorrhage, to be precise.

Thankful

Being Thankful

I’ve linked to everything I’ve written on the subject below.  In the future I will probably just link to this post, again and again.

Why linger on this, when I have recovered fully?  Because this is the end of a very unpleasant six days in my family’s history.  On October 21, 2000, my father died.  On October 22, 2005, my mother died.  And then, October 26, 2010.

The proximity of those dates haunt me.

There’s also this little piece of happiness –

SAH is a form of stroke and comprises 1–7 percent of all strokes.[2] It is a medical emergency and can lead to death or severe disability—even when recognized and treated at an early stage. Up to half of all cases of SAH are fatal and 10–15 percent of casualties die before reaching a hospital,[1] and those who survive often have neurological or cognitive impairment.[3]

New England Journal of Medicine, January 2006

There’s more than a little miracle in my story.  I survived.  I have no discernible impairments and never have.

I need to remember.  I need to remember to be thankful.

I do.  I will.  I am.

So That’s What A Stroke Feels Like

Stroke Stories – In the Hospital

Stroke Stories – At Home

Stroke Stories – Fear

Stroke Stories – The Virtue I Lack

Stroke Stories – Moving Forward

Leave a Reply

