Paris

The news from Paris on Friday night was tragic.  The reaction from some may be even more tragic.

PeaceGlobeI have seen calls for massive troop invasions of the some part of the Middle East.  To wipe our enemies by any means possible.  Some have gone so far as to call for the nuclear option.

The words “barbarians” and “animals” have been thrown around.

Let me be clear, the people who did the killing in Paris are barbarians.  They are humans who have given themselves over to evil.

Just the like ones who committed a similar attack in Beirut two days before, the funeral bombers in Baghdad.

Just like the ones who are killing in Syria and Iraq and Pakistan.

And yes, just like the ones who did the killing in London and Spain and New York.

The question for me is this – will we find the answer to this tragedy in massive retaliatory strikes of our own?  We decry the death of innocents but are willing to kill many more innocents in the pursuit of “peace”.  My study of history says that peace is the one thing that can never be achieved this way.

We must admit the errors made by all.  We must commit to making them again.

I mourn for the people of Paris and France.  If you trace my family back on my father’s side to the early 1700s you find my clan in France.  To be precise in the area now called Alsace.  So I have a special place in my heart for France.

But I have a special place in my heart for the whole world.  And all the people who live there.

They deserve better.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under personal, Thoughts, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

