Time to Change – January 2

weight-loss-3

When things don’t go well you have two choices.  To quit or to begin again.  If you choose to begin again then there has to be a starting point.  Today is that.  I refuse to worry about watching every calorie during the holidays.  It’s a time to celebrate and enjoy whatever there is to enjoy in life.  I tried not to make a pig out of myself, but I ate what I wanted.

But it is indeed time to begin again.

I’ve written before the things that are at the core of my journey.  I do not believe that they are the reason for my past shortfalls.  That is primarily a matter of discipline, or the lack thereof.  I do not point that finger at anyone else.  I know that I have no particular “biological issues” for my weight.  In my case, I eat too much and do too little.  Oh, and I grow old.

I refuse to be caught up in whatever the latest fad/junk science diet may be.  A recent gathering of nutrition experts discovered just how hard it is to nail down an exact diet (Story).  Instead they offered simple, common sense advice.  I’ll be using that as a guideline.  What years of struggle have taught me is that there is no “magic bullet” or “miracle food”.    Eat smart, eat less, exercise more.  It will work, as long as I follow the program.

My goal weight is one where I am happy with how I feel, and where I am happy.   History tells me that’s around 175 pounds.  History also tells me that I need to lose that weight one pound at a time.

Yes, I know.  I’ve said this all before.  Remember, you have two choices.  This is mine.

You’ll note that there isn’t a new weight to start the year.  I’m not going to put myself potentially in a bad place by starting here.  Next week, after a week of better diet and exercise will be just fine, thank you.

My Fitbit counts my steps, MyFitnessPal counts my calories.  I’m trying a new way of “gamifying” the creation of new habits with a little program called “Habitica“.  Any help is good, right?

One step at a time.

This guy – 2009

My resolution remains :

I want to am going to be The Guy again.  The Guy weighed 175 pounds and looked good and felt good.  And his blood pressure was good and his blood tests were good. (New photo of The Guy)

Watch my activity at my Fitbit page

Most recent time/distance – 39:52/ 2.81 miles (14:02/mile pace)

The next milestone is getting back below 200.  I will get there and go on.

Official Weigh In Weight

0.0 pounds

Weight Change this week –  -0.0 pounds

Total Weight Loss To Date – 0.0 pounds

Goal Weight and Total to Lose – 175/25

Leave a Reply

