Time to Change – January 9

weight-loss-3

 

All right, back at it.

I’m not going to spend a lot of itme on the first weigh of the year.  Let’s say that I made it through the holidays within the parameters I wanted.  My last weight was around 203 and I did all the holidays with only a two pound change.  I will take that and dance the dance of joy.

What is rather amazing is that I’ve gotten almost zero exercise.  This past week was bad, lots of stress and schedules shot to hell.  I will take this weight as a start.

 

I mentioned last week that I don’t do fad diets.  The reason is simple.  I’m looking to change the way I eat into something that I will be able to live with for the rest of my life.  Diets that supply outside food don’t teach you that.  You lose the weight and still don’t know what to do.  Diets that create artificial “never eat this” zones aren’t dealing in reality either.  My goal eating style is good food, minimizing processed foods, maximizing fruits, vegetables and good proteins.  What I’m giving up is pigging out and being a lazy butt.  Reasonable portions (which means cutting most restaurant meals in half and bringing the other half home) and reasonable exercise will change my health and the way I look.  That’s what I want.

So you won’t find me extolling the virtues of drinking vinegar or pontificating on the evils of carbs.  As I’ve said before, unless you have a systemic issue (and for the love of God, don’t self diagnose) where your body can’t deal with something, eating smart and eating less is all we really need to do.  With the noted exception, everything else is an excuse as far as I’m concerned.

Moving forward I hope to share some of what I’m actually doing and eating.  The plan is to get at least one meal of seafood, and vegetarian meal every week.  The veggie meal is a whole new thing for me.  Some new cooking challenges for me.  I can hardly wait.

My Fitbit counts my steps, MyFitnessPal counts my calories.  I’m trying a new way of “gamifying” the creation of new habits with a little program called “Habitica“.  Any help is good, right?

One step at a time.

This guy – 2009

My resolution remains :

I want to am going to be The Guy again.  The Guy weighed 175 pounds and looked good and felt good.  And his blood pressure was good and his blood tests were good. (New photo of The Guy)

Watch my activity at my Fitbit page

Most recent time/distance – 39:52/ 2.81 miles (14:02/mile pace)

The next milestone is getting back below 200.  I will get there and go on.

Official Weigh In Weight

205.2 pounds

Weight Change this week –  -0.0 pounds

Total Weight Loss To Date – 0.0 pounds

Goal Weight and Total to Lose – 175/25

Leave a comment

Filed under personal, Weight Loss

Leave a Reply

