The Creativity Project – Traditional Landscape

In my ongoing attempt to keep the creative side of me flowing (which was the original purpose of this blog), I’ve decided to take on a weekly photo challenge.  It sounded like fun, so I’m giving it a try.  Photos on the blog are reduced to insure faster loading.  So they actually look BETTER than they do here!

Week two was “Traditional Landscape” which was fine with me.  It’s one of my favorite subjects.  The problem is that the day available for shooting stayed in the mid-30s temps.  And, of course, it’s January.  In a place where it doesn’t snow.  So I had lots of leafless trees and no snow to make up for it.  An interesting challenge.  One of my favorite locations is Maymont, a really wonderful park in Richmond with lots of photo opportunities.

I ran into a problem fairly quickly.  The challenge includes “…and don’t forget the sky”.  Beautiful sky today but my time frame unfortunately came right in the middle of the day.  Terrible time to shoot.  Plus Maymont has lots of trees.  LOTS of trees, which meant that I was often cut off from views I wanted.  Sky I could get, it was everything else.  Tried lots of ways to get some saturation into the sky and just wandered.  I’d had the Japanese gardens in the back of my mind (my favorite part of this place) and found a couple really great places.  I ended up with two that I really love, both with minor issues.  First, my second favorite.

 

Lake photo

A beautiful carp pond at the center of the Japanese Garden

I really wanted to get some balance between the mid-day light, the reflection, the lit areas and the dark.  I like this one.  Used an old trick I learned with film to get some color in the sky (the other versions of this have a totally blown out sky).  I took the reading off the sky opposite the sun, held it till I swiveled around and snapped the picture.  Still works pretty well.

But this is the one that I like the best.  A small bridge in front of what is a waterfal in warmer seasons.  Now just a beautifully textured stone wall.

Fell in love with this place the first time I saw it.

Fell in love with this place the first time I saw it.

The advantage here is that the sun was behind me so the sky was perfect.  I wish I could have gotten rid of that branch top center.  Didn’t notice it when I took the photo, and I’m trying to do all my editing in the viewfinder rather than post production for this challenge.  That’s just me.  Looking at the photo, it appears that it will be a tight edit anyway because the branches are so close to the ones on the right.  I might have missed them by moving in or moving to my left (big tree to the right), but I wanted the bridge centered.

But hey, it’s supposed to be a learning experience, right?

Next week’s challenge is a Artistic: Red.  Whatever inspires me with red as the focus.  Not the kind of photography I usually do.  This will be, well, a challenge!

This is part of a year long photographic challenge.  Dogwood Photography came up with this interesting challenge (HERE) where you have to come up with a photo a week in one of three categories – Portrait, Landscape or Artistic Impression.  Each week has one with a slightly different challenge.

For the folks who are interested in technical type things:

Primary camera is a Fujifilm Finepix S1000fd.  It is a 10.0 Megapixel CCD, sensor size is 1/2.3″.  I shoot in the Fine JPEG 3648 x 2736 format and usually in the “Chrome” setting.

1 Comment

Filed under Creativity, personal, Photo

One response to “The Creativity Project – Traditional Landscape

  1. Patricia

    Beautiful pictures. I like them both equally.

    Like

Leave a Reply

