The Creativity Project – Red

In my ongoing attempt to keep the creative side of me flowing (which was the original purpose of this blog), I’ve decided to take on a weekly photo challenge.  Dogwood Photography came up with this interesting challenge (HERE) where you have to come up with a photo a week in one of three categories – Portrait, Landscape or Artistic Impression.  Each week has one with a slightly different challenge.  It sounded like fun, so I’m giving it a try.

Week three was “Red”.  This is the “Artistic Impression” category, so the idea is to stretch the limits somehow.  Always the most challenging and potentially the most satisfying.  The first challenge is to find something red.  Then to find something interesting that is red.  And then find an interesting way to approach the image.

So I spent a while just looking for things that were red.  Actually more difficult than expected.  Then, while shopping, I stumbled on these.

But my camera wasn’t with me.  Sigh.

One of the interesting things about living in the 21st century is that we are almost NEVER without a camera.  So I reached into my pocket and pulled out my Moto G (2nd Gen) phone and snapped.  Got some peculiar looks from the staff but hey, you gotta make sacrifices for your art.

Between the camera and the lighting, the carts came out a bit more orange than I wanted so I tweaked it post production

Still have lots to learn with my image editing suite, but I liked this version.

Carts

But as soon as I got home I saw another subject and decided to try that too.  This gave me the chance to use my Super Macro mode for the very first time.  This is a cactus that I’ve owned for several years (cacti are generally the only plant that I can not kill).  Last year, for the very first time, it bloomed.  And then a few weeks ago it did it again.  So I put this down on the floor in some good light and edged in close.  My cat was exceedingly puzzled.  The real challenge here was getting the camera to focus where I wanted it to, on the flower.  I did this handheld and through the viewfinder.  Next time I think it will be on a tripod and using the rear screen.  Again, I like the result.

Kong II in bloom

Kong II in bloom

 

Next week’s challenge is “Portrait – Headshot”.  Supposed to do a photo of someone else.  Hmmm.

This is part of a year long photographic challenge.  Dogwood Photography came up with this interesting challenge (HERE) where you have to come up with a photo a week in one of three categories – Portrait, Landscape or Artistic Impression.  Each week has one with a slightly different challenge.

For the folks who are interested in technical type things:

Primary camera is a Fujifilm Finepix S1000fd.  It is a 10.0 Megapixel CCD, sensor size is 1/2.3″.  I shoot in the Fine JPEG 3648 x 2736 format and usually in the “Chrome” setting.  I do my post shooting tweaks on Serif PhotoPlus X4

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

