The Creativity Project – Head Shot

In my ongoing attempt to keep the creative side of me flowing (which was the original purpose of this blog), I’ve decided to take on a weekly photo challenge.  It sounded like fun, so I’m giving it a try.  Photos on the blog are reduced to insure faster loading.  So they actually look BETTER than they do here!

Week four’s assignment was “Head Shot”.  Unlike previous portrait assignment, this one was to take a picture of someone else.  An interesting challenge as always.  So I started by thinking a little farther afield.  One of the many things I love about living in Richmond is the many wonderful places there are to go.  The Virginia Museum of Fine Art (VMFA) is a fabulous place to just wander around (the permanent collections are open with no admission).  Having a weekend day to ourselves my wife and I took the opportunity to do some exploring.  In the amazing French art collection I found this lovely young lady.  This is a Degas bronze sculpture if memory serves.  I was working with just my Moto G phone camera once again.  I had to angle myself to eliminate as many distractions in the background.

 

Degas Dancer

 

Not a lot to mess with here.  The camera phone actually pretty well for this kind of thing.

I still felt like I wanted to work a little harder than that though.  Crazy, I know.

So I found this lovely lady at home and she was, mostly, willing to sit still for the head shot session.  Natural light, this time with the Fujifilm camera.  The biggest problem was getting her to keep her eyes open!  Miss Jenny is a lovely cat who is extremely wary of me.  So I had to be very careful to get the image I wanted.

Miss Jenny

The challenge here has been that there are some things that I would love to correct in post production but I don’t have th chops yet with my editing software.  Would love to throw the background out of focus more, would love to lighten her left eye and reduce the blowout below her right eye and on her chest.  Guess I know what I need to be doing moving forward.

 

Next week’s challenge is a Landscape: Black and White.  Need to look for some high contrast image opportunities.

This is part of a year long photographic challenge.  Dogwood Photography came up with this interesting challenge (HERE) where you have to come up with a photo a week in one of three categories – Portrait, Landscape or Artistic Impression.  Each week has one with a slightly different challenge.

For the folks who are interested in technical type things:

Primary camera is a Fujifilm Finepix S1000fd.  It is a 10.0 Megapixel CCD, sensor size is 1/2.3″.  I shoot in the Fine JPEG 3648 x 2736 format and usually in the “Chrome” setting.  My photo editing software is PhotoPlus X4 from Serif.

Leave a comment

Filed under Creativity, personal, Photo, RVA

Leave a Reply

