The Creativity Project – Candy

In my ongoing attempt to keep the creative side of me flowing (which was the original purpose of this blog), I’ve decided to take on a weekly photo challenge.  It sounded like fun, so I’m giving it a try.  Photos on the blog are reduced to insure faster loading.  So they actually look BETTER than they do here!

Week six assignment was “Artistic Impression – Candy”. The first interesting item here was the immediate discovery that “candy” means different things in different parts of the world.  Unsurprisingly we have a few members of the group who want to be sticklers about “the rules”.  This isn’t a contest so I much prefer to see how the broad outlines inspire people.  For me the challenge was to try something I haven’t done much with my photography.  So I went for a “glamour shot”.  For me that means a carefully lit, studio shot.  I shot this entirely in Aperture preferred mode and in Macro again.   My “studio” looked like this:

The home studio set up

The home studio set up

A clamp on flood to the right, my desk lamp opposite it and an LED flashlight shining on the backdrop.  You can just barely see the tripod bottom center.  It all worked out pretty well.  I tried a wider aperture but I lost any focus on the front edge of the glass.

The exposure for the final image was ISO 400, 1/30 at f5.

Candy1w

 

 

The image is slightly off level.  I fiddled with the various tools to fix it and never quite got it perfect.  Something to work on moving forward.

 

Next week’s challenge is a Portrait: Faceless.  Interesting.

This is part of a year long photographic challenge.  Dogwood Photography came up with this interesting challenge (HERE) where you have to come up with a photo a week in one of three categories – Portrait, Landscape or Artistic Impression.  Each week has one with a slightly different challenge.

For the folks who are interested in technical type things:

Primary camera is a Fujifilm Finepix S1000fd.  It is a 10.0 Megapixel CCD, sensor size is 1/2.3″.  I shoot in the Fine JPEG 3648 x 2736 format and usually in the “Chrome” setting.  My photo editing software is PhotoPlus X4 from Serif.

Leave a comment

Filed under Creativity, personal, Photo

Leave a Reply

