The Creativity Project – Faceless

In my ongoing attempt to keep the creative side of me flowing (which was the original purpose of this blog), I’ve decided to take on a weekly photo challenge.  It sounded like fun, so I’m giving it a try.  Photos on the blog are reduced to insure faster loading.  So they actually look BETTER than they do here!

Week seven was “Portrait – Faceless”. The challenge here was telling someone’s story without showing the face.  For the second week in a row time was an issue.  When you work in the church things like Shrove Tuesday chew up some time along the way.  I knew what I wanted to do, it was just a matter of finding the time.

Appropriately I finally got the time to shoot on Valentine’s day.  These are my and my wife’s hands.  We’ve been a couple for 39 years this month.  Starting to show some mileage but there is still a very strong devotion.  I think the image tells our story pretty well.

Two versions.  I had forgotten to de-select a grayscale option when I saved this the first time so it came out in BW.  When I looked at it I decided I like the effect.  But I’ve included both versions for your perusal.

The original first.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

And now the BW version

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

Next week’s challenge is a Landscape – Panorama.  Looking at using the panorama functions on cameras or in the editing software.

This is part of a year-long photographic challenge.  Dogwood Photography came up with this interesting challenge (HERE) where you have to come up with a photo a week in one of three categories – Portrait, Landscape or Artistic Impression.  Each week has one with a slightly different challenge.

For the folks who are interested in technical type things:

Primary camera is an Olympus SP-600UZ.  It is a 10.0 Megapixel CCD, sensor size is 1/2.3″.  I am just starting to explore the various settings.

Leave a comment

Filed under Creativity, personal, Photo

Leave a Reply

