The Creativity Project – Reflection

In my ongoing attempt to keep the creative side of me flowing (which was the original purpose of this blog), I’ve decided to take on a weekly photo challenge.  It sounded like fun, so I’m giving it a try.  Photos on the blog are reduced to ensure faster loading.  So they actually look BETTER than they do here!

Now several weeks behind but catching up.  Between being sick and the run up to Easter (a busy time for those of us who work at churches), I am now several weeks behind.

Week ten was “Landscape – Reflection”.  The challenge here is to find a way to show the landscape in reflection.

The solutions for this challenge are pretty standard – still water, mirrors and glass, plus shiny metal.  I really wanted to find something interesting using one of those options.  This week I have three that I liked.

First, one is pretty simple.  This sits at the entrance to a construction area so the drivers can see in some fairly tight areas.  What I really like is the juxtaposition of the round mirror versus the linear background.

 

Nice but it didn’t blow me away.  The next one actually came close to getting me in trouble!  I had seen this reflection of the big white building across the road.  I wandered up the driveway for the building (headed towards what was listed as “guest entrance”), trying to find the right crop in my viewfinder.  There were lots of trees and shrubs that I wanted to avoid.  I ended up in the circle right in front of the building.  Took a couple shots before I got the one I wanted.  When I put the camera down I noticed a middle-aged guy with an official ID lanyard looking right at me.  Didn’t say anything so I started to walk to some steps to the right of this image.  When I was about 15-20 feet away from him (he watched me the whole way), he suddenly asked me if I was with the company.  I said no, just going to walk down the steps and then asked if he’d prefer if I went back the way I came.  With the tone that he was doing me a favor, he said to go ahead but “Don’t take any pictures”.  The company in the building is a pretty big one but they don’t do anything super secret.  So I’m not sure what was going on.  Kinda like the picture, though.

 

That probably would have been my shot for the challenge.  I like the distorted, modern art feel to it.  Just a little ways away however I found this reflection on a different building (where nobody challenged my shooting!).  I really like the almost painted feel to this.  I did no post production here (actually only cropping on all three), this is what I saw.  ISO 64, f3.6 @ 1/400.

Next week’s challenge is Artistic – Transportation.  Literal or interpretive, find inspiration in transportation.

This is part of a year-long photographic challenge.  Dogwood Photography came up with this interesting challenge (HERE) where you have to come up with a photo a week in one of three categories – Portrait, Landscape or Artistic Impression.  Each week has one with a slightly different challenge.

For the folks who are interested in technical type things:

My primary camera is a Fujifilm Finepix S1000fd.  It is a 10.0 Megapixel CCD, sensor size is 1/2.3″.  I shoot in the Fine JPEG 3648 x 2736 format and usually in the “Chrome” setting.

Leave a Reply

