The Creativity Project – Artistic Transportation

In my ongoing attempt to keep the creative side of me flowing (which was the original purpose of this blog), I’ve decided to take on a weekly photo challenge.  It sounded like fun, so I’m giving it a try.  Photos on the blog are reduced to ensure faster loading.  So they actually look BETTER than they do here!

Still a little behind but catching up.

Week twelve was “Artistic Transportation”.  This week we were challenged to find inspiration in transportation.  It could be literal or interpretive.  For someone who grew up in the family of a “car guy,” you’d think this would be an easy one.  Not so much.

Wandering through my adopted city of Richmond looking for transportation inspiration.  Thought about getting some motion blur pictures of cars going by on the expressways.  Didn’t have much luck.  So that’s an area for further exploration.  Didn’t come up with much interesting with the trains going through Shockoe Bottom either.  I liked this shot of a statue dedicated to the men who ran the boats through the canals that helped trade get around the fall line at Richmond.  It combines the theme with my love of public sculpture.

Headsmanw

In the end, it just didn’t feel like it stretched me much.  Too easy, so I kept looking.

A little later, wandering along the canal I came across the mooring for the tour boats that give tours of the history along the river front.  I liked the colors and contrasting lines of the boats, the walls and the ladder.

 

Looking at it now, I wish I had shifted a little more to my left so I was looking at them more head on.  But still pretty satisfactory.

I am still two assignments behind, with a new challenge coming up next week.  I have an image ready for the new one so I won’t fall any farther behind.

This is part of a year-long photographic challenge.  Dogwood Photography came up with this interesting challenge (HERE) where you have to come up with a photo a week in one of three categories – Portrait, Landscape or Artistic Impression.  Each week has one with a slightly different challenge.

For the folks who are interested in technical type things:

My primary camera is a Fujifilm Finepix S1000fd.  It is a 10.0 Megapixel CCD, sensor size is 1/2.3″.  I shoot in the Fine JPEG 3648 x 2736 format and usually in the “Chrome” setting.

Leave a comment

Filed under Creativity, personal, Photo

Leave a Reply

