The Creativity Project – High Key Portrait

In my ongoing attempt to keep the creative side of me flowing (which was the original purpose of this blog), I’ve decided to take on a weekly photo challenge.  It sounded like fun, so I’m giving it a try.  Photos on the blog are reduced to ensure faster loading.  So they actually look BETTER than they do here!

This is another catch-up assignment in the challenge.  I am just about caught up!

Week ten was “Portrait – High Key”.  The challenge was to use classic portrait lighting for a light, airy portrait.

This one raised a LOT of discussion about what exactly qualified for the challenge.  Actually, there’s a lot of conversation about whether or not photos meet the definition pretty much every week.  We have a group that is pretty strict about the definitions of the challenges and a group that is pretty open to improvisation.  If you know me at all you know I’m NOT in the strict interpretation group!  So my first offering was politely but firmly challenged by several folks.  To be honest, I knew I was really on the fringe of the challenge.  So when I got a break I went back to try something more in the mainstream.

My first issue was the level of lighting needed to really pull this off.  My impromptu “studio” is seriously lacking in the wattage department.  But you work with what you have.  The good news was I’d had weeks to think about it so I had a very clear idea of where I wanted to go.

I have a whole collection of  rubber ducks.  They are a reminder of a very happy time (actually a series of very happy times) in my life.  I think this guy was the first.  The lighting should separate the subject from the background and give a bright, airy look to it.  I really wish I could have pumped another couple hundred watts of light into the background but I think I achieved the basic challenge.

 

 

Not sure what I did but the exposure information is missing on this one.

I still have to conquer my panorama shot to catch up.  Otherwise, it is on

Next week’s challenge is Landscape – Zoomed In.  Instead of wide sweeping landscapes zoom in.  Lot of discussion on that one too!

This is part of a year-long photographic challenge.  Dogwood Photography came up with this interesting challenge (HERE) where you have to come up with a photo a week in one of three categories – Portrait, Landscape or Artistic Impression.  Each week has one with a slightly different challenge.

For the folks who are interested in technical type things:

My primary camera is a Fujifilm Finepix S1000fd.  It is a 10.0 Megapixel CCD, sensor size is 1/2.3″.  I shoot in the Fine JPEG 3648 x 2736 format and usually in the “Chrome” setting.

Leave a comment

Filed under Creativity, personal, Photo

Leave a Reply

