The Creativity Project – Zoom In

In my ongoing attempt to keep the creative side of me flowing (which was the original purpose of this blog), I’ve decided to take on a weekly photo challenge.  It sounded like fun, so I’m giving it a try.  Photos on the blog are reduced to ensure faster loading.  So they actually look BETTER than they do here!

Week fourteen was “Landscape – Zoomed In”.  The challenge was to look at landscape not in the traditional sweeping wide angle but zoomed in closer.

 

Another week and more discussion.  The two camps were those of us who saw it as challenging the shooter to get in close (down to macro for some) and those who saw it as using a telephoto lens for tighter focus.  I’ve been taking advantage of the urban landscape virtually at my door, so I went into Richmond looking for something interesting.  I found this down an alley.

 

What appealled to me here is that the alley walls reinforce the sense of “zooming in”.  I love the textures of the brick and metal roofing, with the blue of the sky above it all.  I am very happy with this one.

 

ISO 64, f4.5 at 1/210

Next week’s challenge is Artistic – Metal.  Finding inspiration in metal, shiny, rusty, whatever.

This is part of a year-long photographic challenge.  Dogwood Photography came up with this interesting challenge (HERE) where you have to come up with a photo a week in one of three categories – Portrait, Landscape or Artistic Impression.  Each week has one with a slightly different challenge.

For the folks who are interested in technical type things:

My primary camera is a Fujifilm Finepix S1000fd.  It is a 10.0 Megapixel CCD, sensor size is 1/2.3″.  I shoot in the Fine JPEG 3648 x 2736 format and usually in the “Chrome” setting.

1 Comment

Filed under Creativity, personal, Photo

One response to “The Creativity Project – Zoom In

  1. Patricia

    I like this picture

    Like

Leave a Reply

