Time to Change – The Unexpected Win

weight-loss-3

 

Clearly, I have no idea what I’m doing.

Which seems to work for me, lol.

Didn’t pay a lot of attention to how much I ate.  Did watch what I ate a little more.  No particular exercise, just kept active.  I managed to forget my Fitbit most of the week, but I’m certain I did not exceed my workday norms of about 6,000 to 8,000 steps.

And had a pretty good week.  Plus something of an epiphany, which I will talk about next week.

What jumped out at me this week was an article in the New York Times entitled “After ‘The Biggest Loser’ ,Their Bodies Fought to Regain Weight“.  It was a stunning revelation.  Contrary to the expectations of the experts, metabolism stays depressed after dramatic weight losses.  Meaning that you have to eat even less than normal to maintain a normal weight after you’ve dropped a lot of weight.

In other words, dramatic dieting is setting us all up to fail.

I was a big fan of “TBL” for several years.  But the longer I watched the more the entire process they use struck me as counterproductive.  I don’t’ believe in fad diets (no carbs, no protein, all protein, whatever) and I don’t believe in the meal replacement diets, where they ship you the food you’re to eat each week.  None of these teach you a diet that can be maintained long term.

We need to eat differently.  In a balanced, healthy fashion.  We need to get regular exercise.  We need to be happy to lose weight slowly, a pound or two maximum per week.  Then when we arrive at a healthy weight we will be able to maintain it for the rest of our lives.  Not nailed into place, never to fluctuate.  But never putting significant amounts of that weight back on.  My goal is 175 pounds.  My hope is that I will never go above 180-185 once I get there.

 

But clearly, the days of seeing how far below my caloric daily goals I can go are over.  Daily eating that isn’t balanced with all the necessary food groups isn’t on anymore.  Solid eating, steady exercise, slow but steady.  To get to my goal is going to take me about 30-35 weeks (allowing for a little regression now and then).  That’s about 8 months.  The new year.

That’s the goal.  Next week, we talk about this neat new concept a reader introduced me to, a PLAN.

Onward.

My resolution remains:

This guy – 2009

I want to am going to be The Guy again.  The Guy weighed 175 pounds and looked good and felt good.  And his blood pressure was good and his blood tests were good. (New photo of The Guy)

Watch my activity at my Fitbit page  Step total this week 31,009, average 5,119.  The goal is 70,000/10,000.

The next milestone is getting back below 200.  I will get there and go on.

Official Weigh In Weight

203.2 pounds

Weight Change this week: -1.2 pounds

Total Weight Loss To Date: -2.2 pounds

Goal Weight and Total to Lose – 175/25

Leave a comment

Filed under personal, Weight Loss

Leave a Reply

