The Creativity Project – Urbanscape

In my ongoing attempt to keep the creative side of me flowing (which was the original purpose of this blog), I’ve decided to take on a weekly photo challenge.  It sounded like fun, so I’m giving it a try.  Photos on the blog are reduced to ensure faster loading.  So they actually look BETTER than they do here!

Week seventeen was “Landscape – Urbanscape”.  This week we were challenged to go into an urban area to shoot.  It felt a little like cheating because I’d been doing this for a while now.  I truly enjoy living in a less urban area, but I love having easy access to a city the size of Richmond.

Looking for something that spoke of the city while avoiding the cliche skyline photos turned into a more difficult challenge than I had expected.  I wandered the streets looking at colors and repeated lines and images, but didn’t see anything that grabbed me.  One of the great things about digital photography is I can just snap away, virtually endlessly, and then sift the results at home.  On one side street this grabbed me as a particularly urban image:

 

Power meters

 

It was set just below street level and I could either square the image up or not get the full effect of the 30 meters.  Because of the angle, I was stuck with the two on the right.  So it didn’t quite appeal to me.

So I kept wandering and shooting.  What I found was this:

Urbanscapew

There is something quintessentially urban about watching the world go by a storefront window.  It’s kind of the reverse of Edward Hopper’s iconic Nighthawks painting.  In his, it is night and you are looking in through the window, here I’m inside (with some ice cream) looking out at the day.  I loved the colors, plus the feeling that something is about to happen just beyond the frame.

ISO 200, f7.1 at 1/400

Next week’s challenge is Artistic – Texture.  Take a photo where you can almost feel the texture shown.  I have loved doing that kind of photography for years, so I’ve been looking forward to that week.

This is part of a year-long photographic challenge.  Dogwood Photography came up with this interesting challenge (HERE) where you have to come up with a photo a week in one of three categories – Portrait, Landscape or Artistic Impression.  Each week has one with a slightly different challenge.

For the folks who are interested in technical type things:

My primary camera is a Fujifilm Finepix S1000fd.  It is a 10.0 Megapixel CCD, sensor size is 1/2.3″.  I shoot in the Fine JPEG 3648 x 2736 format and usually in the “Chrome” setting.

One thought on “The Creativity Project – Urbanscape

Leave a Reply

