The Creativity Project – Metal

In my ongoing attempt to keep the creative side of me flowing (which was the original purpose of this blog), I’ve decided to take on a weekly photo challenge.  It sounded like fun, so I’m giving it a try.  Photos on the blog are reduced to ensure faster loading.  So they actually look BETTER than they do here!

Week fifteen was “Artistic – Metal”.  Find your inspiration in metal, shiny, rusty, whatever.

Another week where lots of standard images occurred to me and I even shot some of them.  In the end, none of them felt like I was doing anything interesting.  I have no idea why I turned to my guitar but it seemed like an interesting challenge.  The real challenge turned out finding an interesting view.  I ended up shooting super macro, which put the front of my lens just millimeters away from the tuner.  You can see all kinds of dust on the guitar head even though I thought I had dusted it thoroughly.  At this magnification, EVERYTHING stands out!  I’m really happy with this shot.  Spent a lot of time trying to get the focus point where I wanted it.  One of the shortcomings of my camera is that there is no manual focus capability.  So you sometimes have to play games, even shift the framing of the shot to get what you want in focus.  The tuner is much more central in the original image.  I moved with the crop.

 

When I cropped the shot down a little I suddenly had an image that left me with the “Did I shoot that?” feeling.  Always the best.  ISO 200, f6.4 @ 1/20.

Next week’s challenge is Portrait – Motion.  Portraits are usually static, so the challenge is to include motion.

This is part of a year-long photographic challenge.  Dogwood Photography came up with this interesting challenge (HERE) where you have to come up with a photo a week in one of three categories – Portrait, Landscape or Artistic Impression.  Each week has one with a slightly different challenge.

For the folks who are interested in technical type things:

My primary camera is a Fujifilm Finepix S1000fd.  It is a 10.0 Megapixel CCD, sensor size is 1/2.3″.  I shoot in the Fine JPEG 3648 x 2736 format and usually in the “Chrome” setting.

Leave a comment

Filed under Creativity, personal, Photo

Leave a Reply

