Time to Change – The Man With The Plan

weight-loss-3

Two weeks ago I talked about realizing that I was trying to do this without a plan.  Making it up as I go along.  Ad lib.

How was that working for me?  Not so much.

So it was time to drop back and figure out a plan.  That’s when I ran into the next challenge.

Planning forces you to look at what you’re doing.  And what I was doing was bad.  Plus I was frosting all that bad with a thick layer of denial.

Eating – bad.  Exercise – basically non-existent.  Result?  Ping-ponging in a five pound range.

Useless.

So here’s what the planning revealed:

  • Portion control was awful.
  • Exercise is going to be a challenge because of the weather.
  • Not having a clear weekly menu means I eat poorly.

It also forced me to realize that at almost 60 (yikes!) I need to take a serious look at where my body is.  We’re starting to creak a little.  Walking is definitely going to be part of my routine but the running thing is probably over.  Which is fine with me.  Never enjoyed it.

The weather issue is this – I’m a northern boy in the south.  I need to deal with the fact that mid-summer, middle of the day exercise (especially biking) is very different from the last decade.  When the temps are in the high 80s and the humidity is about the same, exercise can put me in a bad place if I’m not ready.  Which means making time during cooler hours to exercise.  New schedule.

A menu makes a huge difference.  Making sure that I have everything available and ready helps too.  Far too many times I’d have a recipe ready to go but forget to pull the protein out of the freezer.  Suddenly we’re ordering pizza and the weight loss thing isn’t working again.

So this week I’ve made sure I had my Fitbit on me.  I’ve averaged over 10k steps per day for the week.  The bike comes out next week and we’ll be looking at local riding opportunities.

Smaller portions.  More fruits and vegetables.

It’s not a complete plan yet, but we’re headed that way.

Onward.

My resolution remains:

This guy – 2009

I want to am going to be The Guy again.  The Guy weighed 175 pounds and looked good and felt good.  And his blood pressure was good and his blood tests were good. (New photo of The Guy)

Watch my activity at my Fitbit page  Step total this week 31,009, average 5,119.  The goal is 70,000/10,000.

The next milestone is getting back below 200.  I will get there and go on.

Official Weigh In Weight

205.4 pounds

Weight Change this week: 0.2 pounds

Total Weight Loss To Date: -0.2 pounds

Goal Weight and Total to Lose – 175/25

Leave a comment

Filed under personal, Weight Loss

Leave a Reply

