Time to Change – The Big Change

weight-loss-3

 

These posts have been gone for a while.

There have been a lot of things going on in my life and there are still some things that are unresolved.  I will do my best to deal with them as they come, but first let’s deal with the reality on this particular topic.

Earlier this week I was diagnosed with Type 2 Diabetes.  I have wandered along the edge of this for a decade or more.  As my body gets older things change.  The diagnosis was and is scary.  At the same time, I have gotten wonderful support from my physician, family, and friends.  I know what I have to do, and it is supremely do-able.

First, we are back on to the “gotta lose weight” treadmill.  That hasn’t been working real well for me so far.  I’m hoping that this diagnosis will help me stay focused on what I can and can’t do, can and can’t eat.  The outline for my eating plan will be the “South Beach Diet”.  My doctor approves, I’ve done it before, and it worked.  So I will reduce the number of carbs, focus on complex carbs and eat mindfully.  Meaning I will pay attention to what goes into my mouth.  To do this I use My Fitness Pal.  Great tracker app.  Check it out HERE

Second, the exercise thing has gotten a boost as well.  Before, it was “if I can”.  Now, it’s “it has to be done”.  I’ve gotten a minimum of 30 minutes exercise every day this week since the diagnoses.  Rather than focusing on distance or speed, I will be focusing on 150 minutes a week.  I track my steps through my Fitbit (I have an old school Fitbit One) and my bike rides through MapMyRide.

The great thing about these apps is that they can all communicate with each other.

Finally, I’ve got a new weapon to use.  Metformin is a generic drug that has been a great help to Type 2 folks for many years.  I have always had reservations about taking drugs (and I still try to take as few as possible) but this one has a good track record.  Plus it’s not necessarily a permanent thing.  If I’m good with diet and exercise, there can come a time when I don’t need it.  for the moment I do.

Onward.

My resolution remains:

This guy – 2009

I want to am going to be The Guy again.  The Guy weighed 175 pounds and looked good and felt good.  And his blood pressure was good and his blood tests were good. (New photo of The Guy)

Watch my activity at my Fitbit page

The next milestone is getting back below 200.  I will get there and go on.

Official Weigh In Weight

204.1 pounds

Weight Change this week: 0.0 pounds

Total Weight Loss To Date: -0.0 pounds

Goal Weight and Total to Lose – 175/25

Leave a comment

Filed under personal, Weight Loss

Leave a Reply

