Time to Change – Continued Progress

weight-loss-3

I moved down a size in jeans.

That does not mean I fit into my goal jeans yet (I refuse to call them “skinny jeans” because men my age shouldn’t even think about that  awful fashion style.  In fact, no one should), but I am comfortably into the next size down.

And isn’t that always a huge boost?

Eating has been good this week, I’m a little behind on the exercise.  One of the things that food logging does is make you think about how the “cost” of what you’re thinking about eating.  I slipped on discipline and ordered french fries with lunch.  When I went to log them, the number that popped up firmly reinforced the concept that I need to limit them in the new eating lifestyle.  When my lunch companions decided they were going to have milkshakes I was tempted again.  Til I saw the 500 calorie listing!  I will still have milkshakes, but they will NOT be impulse items.  Just that kind of mental discipline makes a huge difference.

I think one of the biggest mistakes that can be made in a process like this is to think of it as a “diet”, meaning a temporary or short term eating discipline.  I could lose this weight faster if I went that route.  The problem is that those kinds of artificial food templates get you to your goal, but don’t give you the tools to stay there.  That’s why I don’t do any of the high restriction diets, or pre-packaged food diets, or the pills or whatever.  My firm belief is that all of those programs are set up for us to fail IN THE LONG RUN.  In the short run, I’ve seen them work.  This about changing the way I eat, in a manner that allows me to continue to enjoy the foods I love, and that is sustainable for years to come.

It can be done.  I gonna do it.

The number was good this week too.

 

Onward.

My resolution remains:

This guy – 2009

I want to am going to be The Guy again.  The Guy weighed 175 pounds and looked good and felt good.  And his blood pressure was good and his blood tests were good. (New photo of The Guy)

Watch my activity at my Fitbit page

The next milestone is getting back below 200.  I will get there and go on.

Official Weigh In Weight

202.0 pounds

Weight Change this week: 1.4 pounds

Total Weight Loss To Date: – 2.1 pounds

Goal Weight and Total to Lose – 175/25

Leave a comment

Filed under personal, Weight Loss

Leave a Reply

