Time to Change – Milestone!

weight-loss-3

Yeah, there’s a really happy number down below.

Because I’ve been doing well with both the eating and the exercise, I’ve been waiting for a sabotage week.  With the milestone weight within reach, this is usually where I mess up.  So I tried to be extra vigilant.  And it paid off.

Of course, that just sets me up for another sabotage week.  Ain’t gonna happen.  I want to put some distance between me and that threshold number again.  But what a great feeling to put such a pivotal milestone behind me!

 

I want to take a  moment to talk about water.  While all the focus is on tracking food and consistent exercise, simple H2O plays a very important role in all this.

Making sure I drink enough water works on a variety of levels.  Water just keeps everything moving smoothly.  With the increase in fiber in my diet because of more fruit and vegetables, that’s important.  Staying hydrated helps me with the increased exercise levels as well.  Being dehydrated makes me feel slow, which contributes to not doing the work.  Drinking enough water (I aim for 4-6 servings of 12-16 oz each) also helps me feel full.  There’s a difference between hunger (when your body needs food) and appetite (when you brain THINKS you need food).  Some studies indicate that the appetite process can be suppressed, at least in part, by keeping your stomach fuller, longer.  Water can help, and it comes with zero calories!  So water is a vitally important part of my new eating pattern.

Which reminds me!  I was questioned about my use of the word “regime” last week or so, when talking about my “new regime”.  They suggested that I meant regimen.  So I did a little research.  Turns out that “regimen” is rarely if ever used, in this context, outside of the U.S.  For some strange reason, I have several writing habits that are very “English”.  No idea why, but this is one of them.  This is a legitimate (if less common on this side of the pond) use of the word.

Things that only wordsmiths worry about, lol!

So one sabotage week out of the way.  Let’s not fall at the next hurdle.

Onward.

My resolution remains:

This guy – 2009

I want to am going to be The Guy again.  The Guy weighed 175 pounds and looked good and felt good.  And his blood pressure was good and his blood tests were good. (New photo of The Guy)

Watch my activity at my Fitbit page

The next milestone is getting back below 200.  I will get there and go on.

Official Weigh In Weight

199.8 pounds

Weight Change this week: 2.2 pounds

Total Weight Loss To Date: – 4.3 pounds

Goal Weight and Total to Lose – 175/25

Leave a comment

Filed under personal, Weight Loss

Leave a Reply

