Life Among the Unemployed – Again

Sigh.

need-a-job

 

The official announcement has been made, so I can talk about it finally.

As of a week ago, I am no longer the Director of Youth Formation at the Episcopal Church of the Redeemer.

Lots of reasons behind the decision, some in my control, some not.  In the end, I think we were a mismatch from the beginning.  Wonderful young people, lots of wonderful adults.  My prayers are with the congregation as they face ongoing tough decisions.

All things considered, it was handled as well as it might be handled.  I’ve been fired worse.  As is my custom, I’m not interested in pointing fingers and laying blame.  There is no profit in it for anyone.

For the record, I was not let go because I did anything wrong.  They felt like they needed a different kind of leadership.  I think they might be right.  Like I said, a mismatch.

This time is especially hard.  I not only lost a job, but we lost our home parish too.  It’s the first time in 30 years that I haven’t had a faith home.  We are a long way away from the friends and networks we built.  So this is particularly scary.

Some folks may say that we are still welcome at our most recent parish.  By and large, that is probably true.  But it would be a very bad idea to go back.  Some people wanted me gone.  I will admit to having a little upset in my own heart.  Far more importantly than that, however, is the fact that it would be terrible for the congregation as they move forward.  Whoever steps in the leadership role doesn’t need me sitting there.  There’s a reason why clergy are usually told to find a new place of worship when they retire.  The same goes for anyone who leads a ministry.

I am part of their past, as they are part of mine.  It’s time to move on.

It’s not easy, but it’s right.

So, here we go again.  Looking for a new job.  Looking for a new parish.  Trying to figure out what the next chapter of my life is going to be.

Whatever it turns out to be.

And I’ll keep you up to date on how that goes.

One thought on “Life Among the Unemployed – Again

  1. Jay, as scary as I know it is, sometimes having to cut loose completely can be very freeing. Even not having your local support group kind of forces a different look at things – and it keeps you from re-hashing it over and over. You, Donna, and Rion can talk it over as much as you want to, and you can still go out refreshed and ready for a new challenge. I won’t pretend it will be easy, but you’re a gifted person and I feel certain the right thing will come along. Please know that you’re all in my prayers.

    Like

Leave a Reply

