Time to Change – Discovering Things

weight-loss-3

 

Well, isn’t that interesting?

This past week was one where I struggled a little with my feelings about unemployment.  Between the weather and my schedule, my workout routine fell short (this is the first week in a while that will definitely fall short of 150 minutes).  I’m trying my hand at NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) again, and the book has me flummoxed.  So I was once again in the mode of just hoping to avoid catastrophe.

Lost all of last week’s gain and then some.  Nice.

Also coming to grips with some of the reality of adding T2 Diabetes to the mix.  I’m pretty sure I know how it’s going to kill me.  Not heart disease or organ failure.

Sticker shock.

I was given a free glucose meter (free! yay!) and ten test strips.  So I started looking at what that is going to cost me moving forward.  The test strips for the meter I was given (free! yay?) seem to be running just shy of two dollars each!  Still waiting to hear back from the insurance company about preferences and coverage, but that’s ridiculous.  For at least the interim I’ve found an inexpensive meter where the strips will cost me about $10/60.  My advantage is, at the moment, I’m only testing once a day.  All the numbers have been good to great so far.  Then you get into the question of different readings from different meters.  The two have varied slightly so far, once running slightly higher than the other.  The insurance company has said that my “Diabetes 101” class costs are covered.  Such fun.

It’s interesting “watching” myself choosing foods differently.  “Do I want to use those calories/carbs on this?  Do I want to eat them now?”

The number below would indicate it’s working, so….

 

Onward.

My resolution remains:

This guy – 2009

I want to am going to be The Guy again.  The Guy weighed 175 pounds and looked good and felt good.  And his blood pressure was good and his blood tests were good. (New photo of The Guy)

Watch my activity at my Fitbit page

The next milestone is getting back below 200.  I will get there and go on.

Official Weigh In Weight

197.0 pounds

Weight Change this week:  -3.4 pounds

Total Weight Loss To Date: – 7.1 pounds

Goal Weight and Total to Lose – 175/25

Leave a Reply

