Life Among the Unemployed – Job Search

This is where the real work begins.

need-a-job

Updated the resume.  Had an offer for a free resume review.  Did that.  Got a bunch of, IMO, idiotic recommendations and a couple good ones.

What qualifies as an “idiotic” recommendation in my opinion?  Turning my resume into a hype machine.  It stopped just short of creating a POW!!! infomercial out of it.  I will look again to make sure that I’m showing the best vision of what I have done, but there are limits.  I will make the sensable changes (like contact info on all pages).

The upside of job hunting in the modern age is a greater number of resources out there to use.  The downside is the overwhelming number of resources you have to comb through.  Plus you get the places where you submit your resume and are then asked to manually enter all the same material over again.  Asinine.  My new favorite is the site that has you upload your resume, and then skims the info out for you.  Cool!  Except it mixes information from multiple entries and then inserts multiples versions of these incorrect entries.  So I have to go through and edit it all.

Sigh.

I’m also pretty sure this is an awful time to be looking for a job.  My very first job in radio was a December hire, so it’s not out of the question.  Thank God for my severance.

I have sent out about six resumes so far.  I could do a lot more except I spend all that time either manually entering info or editting incorrect info.

Meanwhile I’m looking into other ways to fill my time and maybe put a few dollars in my pocket.  I’ll let you know how that goes.

 

So I will keep my head up, my eyes open, my heart strong.

Waiting to see the next chapter in my life.

Whatever it turns out to be.

And I’ll keep you up to date on how that goes.

Leave a Reply

