Time to Change – Bit of A Down Week

weight-loss-3

 

So the question is, did I survive The Big Feast?

Certainly on the family/fun/no politics allowed here scale I did very well.  Only the real scale is yet to tell the tale.

This has been an underperforming week.  Just couldn’t get my head wrapped around much of anything.  Several small things refused to behave.  Can’t explain it.  My eating was pretty good, and I nailed the 150 minute goal by Wednesday.  So that was good.

 

On the diabetes front, the numbers have all been fine, but slightly higher than they were in the weeks before Thanksgiving.  Probably not surprising.  Haven’t really laid down a baseline yet.  That’s something I need to be a little more intentional about.  At the moment, I only test once a day.  For that to work I need to vary the time of day (and relationship to eating).  Not getting quite the proper spread so I will look at that.  But again, the numbers are fine.

Went to my second “Diabetes 101” class.  That’s my name for it, not theirs.  Sigh.  It’s not bad.  Nice instructor, clear lessons.  But I could absorb the information in ninety minutes.  The class is three hours.  Plus some of the stuff just isn’t presented in (in my humble opinion) the most effective form.  I was probably the second youngest person in the room.  Couple folks around my age and several maybe five years older.  When it came to the part about exercise, it was defining what didn’t “qualify” as exercise (meaning you weren’t working hard enough), and how much.  150 is fine but you really want to be shooting for 300 if you’re trying to lose weight.

And I could feel the air go out of the room.

If your lifestyle is basic couch potato, then ANY regular activity is a step in the right direction.  Walk slowly for fifteen minutes a day.  As many days as possible.  Next week, shoot for sixteen.  Keep working up from there.  Instead, folks were given an easy excuse on why they don’t exercise.  Too much, too hard, can’t do it.  Basic leadership 101 is setting people up to succeed.  But I’m not the expert, nor am I the leader and I need to respect the people who are and STFU.

Sigh.  Not my natural state.

Meanwhile, the scale that counts says it was a good week.

Onward.

My resolution remains:

This guy – 2009

I want to am going to be The Guy again.  The Guy weighed 175 pounds and looked good and felt good.  And his blood pressure was good and his blood tests were good. (New photo of The Guy)

Watch my activity at my Fitbit page

The next milestone is getting back below 190.  I will get there and go on.

Official Weigh In Weight

194.2 pounds

Weight Change this week:  -1.6 pounds

Total Weight Loss To Date: – 9.9 pounds

Goal Weight and Total to Lose – 175/25

Leave a comment

Filed under Diabetes, personal, Weight Loss

Leave a Reply

