Time to Change – Trying A New Food!

weight-loss-3

It’s amazing what you can do, once you decide what your priorities are going to be!

 

I mentioned last week that the weather becomes an increasing issue for staying active.  A gym membership was how I dealt with this in the snowy climes of WNY, but that’s a tough thing to have to try and find the budget for right now.  So I have had to be smart about getting out.

This did not help me  to remember to keep my Fitbit charged, however.  Lost a day and a half because I ran the battery down, and didn’t check.  Even with that the “official” numbers will be very close, perhaps even at, the goal of 150.

I have a Christmas party tonight, so it’s good that I get the weigh-in done BEFORE.

I’m also starting to get a grip on what my blood glucose numbers look like.  The numbers are generally within the ranges I’m supposed to be shooting for but it feels like there is room for improvement there.  I tend to sit nearer the high end of the standard.  So I’m looking at what I’m eating and when.

My attitude towards diabetes is the same as when this was just changing how I ate to lose weight.  I am not interested in living a life filled with food I have to “get used to”.  Boring food isn’t welcome.

Tried something new this week – black bean spaghetti.  I love pasta dishes, though mostly for the sauce.  The pasta itself is just a vehicle for the marinara or the alfredo.  When it comes to carbs, pasta is an issue.  So I’d come across alternatives (several of which were non-starters), and this one seemed to have some potential.  There are several brands out there, this is the one I’ve found locally:

black_beanOur first experiment went pretty well.  Taste was slightly different, but pasta doesn’t have a strong flavor.  Again, a vehicle for the sauce.  The texture was slightly different than a traditional pasta but quite acceptable.  The chocolate colored water when you drain it is a little strange!

Way ahead of spaghetti squash!  We will try it again, then try some of the other varieties (chick pea, soybean, etc).  This has about half the carbs of traditional pasta.

 

Found at Wegman’s.

So the number at the bottom will tell it’s tale.  Then we head into potential challenge weeks with Christmas and New Year’s trying to trip me up.

Onward.

My resolution remains:

This guy – 2009

I want to am going to be The Guy again.  The Guy weighed 175 pounds and looked good and felt good.  And his blood pressure was good and his blood tests were good. (New photo of The Guy)

Watch my activity at my Fitbit page

The next milestone is getting back below 190.  I will get there and go on.

Official Weigh In Weight

193.2pounds

Weight Change this week:  -1.6 pounds

Total Weight Loss To Date: – 10.9 pounds

Goal Weight and Total to Lose – 175/25

Leave a comment

Filed under Diabetes, personal, Weight Loss

Leave a Reply

