Time To Change – Blood!

weight-loss-3

I promise this post will only be minimally bloody.

But you suddenly become very interested in your own blood once you become a diabetic.

I got through the holidays with minimal damage.  By New Year’s weekend, I was only up two pounds.  I consider that a major win.  My glucose numbers seemed to be OK as well.

I really had no idea if they were, however.  There were swings and just a couple numbers that were serious outliers.  But my averages were very good, so I wasn’t too worried.

Part of my new routine were the “Diabetic 101” classes I’ve mentioned before.  That’s what I call them in my head.  After three of them, you “graduate”, so I guess I am a graduate diabetic.  I took a moment at the end of class to check with our instructor, and she assures me that none of the numbers in my record was a problem.  Overall, they were quite good.

I continue to have to make adjustments in my head about diet because of the diabetes.  When it was just losing weight and getting healthy, you were encouraged to eat as much fruit and vegetable as possible.  Now, I’m supposed to be a little more cautious with fruit (lots of sugar).  Beans were great as well.  Lots of fiber and protein.  Yeah, but lots of carbs too.

Sigh.

In the end, my numbers are fine.  The weight loss will continue.  And I’ll get to where I’m going.

Eventually.

Exercise was OK, despite the weather.  Looks like I may some snow to shovel

 

Onward.

My resolution remains:

I want to am going to be The Guy again.  The Guy weighed 175 pounds and looked good and felt good.  And his blood pressure was good and his blood tests were good. (New photo of The Guy)

Watch my activity at my Fitbit page

The next milestone is getting back below 190.  I will get there and go on.

Official Weigh In Weight

195.2pounds

Weight Change this week:  +2.0 pounds

Total Weight Loss To Date: – 8.9 pounds

Goal Weight and Total to Lose – 175/25

Leave a comment

Filed under Diabetes, personal, Weight Loss

Leave a Reply

