Time To Change – Progress Continues

weight-loss-3

So, I will spare you the suspense.  The number at the bottom this week is another good one.

Which in some ways surprises me.  It didn’t feel like a particularly good week.  I had one day where my carb intake blew through the roof, largely without me even noticing.

The difference, I believe, is that I can figure these things out now.  The day of the carbohydrate silliness (and it was, just silly), I ended up feeling logy and unmotivated.  Hmmm, think there’s a connection there?  Even more important however was the fact that I could go back and see exactly what had happened.

The key to this weight loss, as it was the previous time I had success, is mindfulness.  Simply being aware of what I’m eating.  Thinking before I eat something.  Over the last couple years, I would have told you that I was paying attention to what I was eating.  But I wasn’t losing weight.

Yes, it’s about what I eat and how much exercise I get.  Period.  I didn’t believe in “miracle foods” or “revolutionary weight loss programs” when I started.  I don’t believe in them now.  On the list of “Foods I Have Given Up” there is exactly one item.  One.  Regular soda/pop.  When I want one, I have a diet.  That’s it.  I am losing weight while I eat the foods I want.

That’s not to say there haven’t been changes.  Some of them, like eating only brown rice, were made years ago.  It’s about making smart choices in my daily eating, picking my spots on when I eat the fun stuff and just paying attention.

But you know what the most important thing I am mindful of when I’m eating?

How much.

Seriously, that is more important than just about anything else I do.  Whether it’s keeping my blood glucose stable or losing weight, it really comes down to controlling how much I eat of anything.  I can eat chocolate.  I can drink wine or beer.  It’s simply a matter of how much.  Before it was always too much.  And I ended up obese and that made my insulin resistance worse.

I am very close to passing my next milestone weight.

Onward.

My resolution remains:

I want to am going to be The Guy again.  The Guy weighed 175 pounds and looked good and felt good.  And his blood pressure was good and his blood tests were good. (New photo of The Guy)

Watch my activity at my Fitbit page

The next milestone is getting back below 190.  I will get there and go on.

Official Weigh In Weight

191.0 pounds

Weight Change this week:  -2.0 pounds

Total Weight Loss To Date: – 13.1 pounds

Goal Weight and Total to Lose – 175/25

Leave a comment

Filed under Diabetes, personal, Weight Loss

Leave a Reply

