Time To Change – A New Challenge

weight-loss-3

 

I am realizing that I have a whole new challenge to overcome.  A great deal of what I have internalized in my previous weight loss routines aren’t necessarily helpful as I try to lose weight AND deal with Type II diabetes.

Dinner earlier this week brought that home to me.  By weight loss standards it was fine.  Butternut squash soup, a little sourdough bread.  Total calories about 400, basically vegetarian.  Wonderful.

Nope.  Worst blood glucose reading I have ever had.  Took another look.  Basically an all carb meal.  Squash is a fruit, there was sweet potato in the soup as well.  Add in the bread, not good.  Virtually no protein either.  So it all just got dumped into my bloodstream.

My reading was back to normal by the next morning, which was good.  Even still.  There are some dietary habits I need to reconsider.  My biggest problems seem to be with post dinner readings, so I need to focus on that for the time being.  I’m still trying to figure out what’s going on, since my readings were consistently better a month ago.

In the meantime, I keep pursuing the numbers.  Both sets.

Meanwhile, this amused and appalled me:

Onward.

My resolution remains:

I want to am going to be The Guy again.  The Guy weighed 175 pounds and looked good and felt good.  And his blood pressure was good and his blood tests were good. (New photo of The Guy)

Watch my activity at my Fitbit page

The next milestone is getting back below 190.  I will get there and go on.

Official Weigh In Weight

190.6 pounds

Weight Change this week:  – 0.4pounds

Total Weight Loss To Date: – 13.5 pounds

Goal Weight and Total to Lose – 175/25

Leave a comment

Filed under Diabetes, personal, Weight Loss

Leave a Reply

