Time To Change – As Predicted

weight-loss-3

Somehow, I keep forgetting to do this post, lol.

Actually, it’s not surprising.  There’s been a change and I haven’t fully adjusted to it yet.

I began doing some substitute teaching with the local school district.  It’s a way to bring some desperately needed money into the house as I continue to search for a new full-time job.  But it also means that some of that “free time” I used to have to crank out this stuff is gone.  And I haven’t made the adjustment to a new work schedule.

It’s a crappy excuse, but it has the benefit of being true.

The change in schedule also has something to do with the backsliding I did this week.  My eating was slightly off but exercise went straight into file 13.  Substitute teaching can wear you out!  Some days it’s because you’re constantly on the move.  The day I sat in on a fourth-grade class I walked almost four miles.  Just round and round and round the classroom.  High school subbing is easier because there’s less direct involvement with the class (they are usually left with reading or worksheets, so I’m just keeping a minimal level of order) but I find it mentally wearing.  Since I float from school to school I’m usually semi-lost.  And because I have no place that is “mine” there’s that feeling you get when you visited you great aunt, the one with all the breakable stuff and the plastic covers on the furniture.

Again, a crappy excuse but true.  I had one night of total “I don’t care, I want all the carbs” meltdown.  And I’m happy the backslide wasn’t worse than it was.

Blood glucose (other than the meltdown night, which was bad.  Actually a good reminder to me to get a grip, even on the bad days) has been better.  Kind of hard to get any mid-day readings, though.

I knew that the first couple weeks when you hit a milestone can be a seesaw affair.  It’s OK.  We will get it back and keep on going.

As always, the biggest part of this battle is mental.  That outlook piece is the difference between winning and losing.  Between progress and backsliding.  Between the longest, healthiest life possible and a whole bunch of things I don’t want to think about.

Onward.

My resolution remains:

I want to am going to be The Guy again.  The Guy weighed 175 pounds and looked good and felt good.  And his blood pressure was good and his blood tests were good. (New photo of The Guy)

Watch my activity at my Fitbit page

The next milestone is getting back below 190.  I will get there and go on.

Official Weigh In Weight

190.8 pounds

Weight Change this week:  + 1.0 pounds

Total Weight Loss To Date: – 13.3 pounds

Goal Weight and Total to Lose – 175/25

Leave a Reply

