Time To Change – The Image In My Head

Continuing the “plateau”.  Which isn’t bad, just a little frustrating.

I’ve been thinking about the next set of changes needed to get moving again.  Clearly, the exercise component needs to be changed.  My bicycle is out of storage and I got my first ride in.  More about that next week.

My thoughts this week have been focused on the inward changes I need to make.  Each of us has an “internal” image of who we are and what we look like.  That image can be a hurdle to getting where we want to go.  In the years that I was putting on this weight, my internal image stayed with the slimmer version of myself.    Even as my weight increased, taking my clothing sizes with it, my internal image kept telling me I looked the same as ever.  If the mirror denied that belief, I simply stopped looking in the mirror.  Until the day you do look and realize that there’s an issue.  In my case, it was repeated medical discussions, involving my blood pressure and diabetes.  I finally had to confront that image.

Now I discover that the problem has reversed.  My internal image is the heavy version of me.  I’m positive that despite the number getting better, I still look the way I used to.  It discourages me in the good habits I’m developing, tries to drag me back to the old ways.  It’s that negative, critical voice that most of us hear inside our heads.  The one that tells us we can’t succeed, that we shouldn’t try.

That internal image will have an effect, even a profound effect, on your level of happiness.  If it is constantly telling you that you aren’t good enough/big enough/small enough/talented enough/whatever, then it saps you of the energy needed to be the person you want to be.  It will stop you from even trying.  Happy, successful people seem to have a pretty clear idea of who they are, in my experience.  They spend much less time listening to the voice of criticism and defeat.

Changing your internal image of yourself can help you shut that voice up.  It’s just one step (we’ll talk about taking this all one step at a time next week), but it’s a step that can make a powerful difference in a life.

As I thought about this, I realized that this change isn’t just a dieting/weight loss concept.  What’s your internal image of yourself in your relationships, your career, your creative life?  Does it contribute to your happiness or does it increase the negativity in your life?

 

Onward.

My resolution remains:

 

want to am going to be The Guy again.  The Guy weighed 175 pounds and looked good and felt good.  And his blood pressure was good and his blood tests were good.

Watch my activity at my Fitbit page

 

The next milestone is getting back below 185.  I will get there and go on.

Official Weigh In Weight

190.0 pounds

Weight Change this week: +0.1 pounds

Total Weight Loss To Date: – 14.9 pounds

Goal Weight and Total to Lose – 175/25

Leave a Reply

