Time To Change – On The Road Again

It’s always one step at a time.  One pound at a time.  One challenge at a time.

Last week I talked about the changes needed in my activity/exercise level.  I’m happy to report progress on that front.  The bicycle is out of storage and was on the road twice this past week.  One of my goals for 2017 is 1,000 miles on the bicycle.  The combination of odd weather and my schedule has made that tough.

The other challenge to my riding is that I am profoundly uncomfortable riding on the back roads here in Virginia.  There are many people who do, but the lack of a berm scares the crap out of me.  So I’m having to become an urban cyclist (which used to be the “scares the crap out of me” category).  Richmond is very bicycle friendly.  Which doesn’t mean you don’t have to keep your head on a swivel.  I’ve already had one driver misestimate where the edge of his vehicle was in relation to my bike.  Didn’t hit me, but didn’t miss me by much either.

My goal by about 13 miles closer!  Many more miles to go.  The plan is to take the first shot at the Cap2Cap before the end of the month.  And do that run several times this year.

When I’m not on my bike I still need to keep my active minutes up.  That’s improved too.  Several days walking at the park just down the road (Rockwood) have put me right around the 150 minutes that are my weekly goal.  I am not counting the bicycling toward that number.  So it’s 150 minutes on top of the saddle time.

(Side trivia – while walking at the park last week, I came upon a fire!  There’s an archery range here and someone had set one of the hay bale targets on fire.  I called 911, led the firefighters to the fire and spoke with police.  Look at me being all “good citizen”!)

Saw a nice move in the number below.  Let’s see if we can’t keep it going now.

My latest ride.

 

Onward.

My resolution remains:

 

want to am going to be The Guy again.  The Guy weighed 175 pounds and looked good and felt good.  And his blood pressure was good and his blood tests were good.

Watch my activity at my Fitbit page

 

The next milestone is getting back below 185.  I will get there and go on.

Official Weigh In Weight

188.6 pounds

Weight Change this week: -1.4 pounds

Total Weight Loss To Date: – 16.3 pounds

Goal Weight and Total to Lose – 175/25

Leave a comment

Filed under Diabetes, personal, Weight Loss

Leave a Reply

